Leonardo Contreras Roa

Leonardo Contreras Roa

PhD in Linguistics and Didactics

LIDILE

Je suis linguiste, enseignant d'anglais et phonéticien.

J'ai commencé par des études de traduction au Chili au cours desquelles je me suis intéressé à l'analyse de la traduction. Mon objectif était de comprendre comment les idées se modifient au moment de les passer d'une langue à une autre.

Je me suis ensuite installé en France pour me consacrer à l'enseignement des langues: tout d'abord l'espagnol, puis l'anglais. Je me suis rendu compte que, tout comme les structures et les idées se transforment au moment de les traduire, les sons d'une langue sont modifiés dans la bouche de quelqu'un qui les apprend en tant que langue seconde ou étrangère.

À présent, j'étudie à travers la phonétique la façon dont les apprenants acquièrent les phonèmes, le rythme et l'intonation d'une langue. J'aime particulièrement l'analyse de grands corpus de données audio ou vidéo pour y trouver des régularités et essayer de comprendre comment fonctionne l'interlangue des apprenants de langues.

Intérêts

  • Phonetics (Segmental, Prosody)
  • Corpus linguistics
  • Music theory

Formation

  • PhD in Linguistics and Didactics, 2019

    Université Rennes 2 (France)

  • MA in Linguistics and Didactics, 2014

    Université Rennes 2 (France)

  • BA in Translation (Spanish-English-French), 2011

    Universidad de Concepción (Chile)

Récents

Leonardo Contreras Roa

Leonardo Contreras Roa

PhD in Linguistics and Didactics

LIDILE

I am a linguist, an English teacher and a phonetician.

I initially studied translation in Chile and was passionate about translation analysis—trying to understand how language structures and ideas are modified when someone translates them from one language to another.

I then became interested in language teaching, so I moved to France. There, I started teaching Spanish and then English. I realized that, just as structures and ideas are transformed when translated, so are the structures and sounds of a language when someone learns it as a second or foreign language.

My research currently consists in analyzing through phonetics how learners acquire the phonemes, rhythm and intonation of the language they are learning. I particularly enjoy working with big corpora of audio or video data to find regularities and try to make things out of them—i.e. understanding the way a learner's interlanguage behaves.

Interests

  • Phonetics (Segmental, Prosody)
  • Corpus linguistics
  • Music theory

Education

  • PhD in Linguistics and Didactics, 2019

    Université Rennes 2 (France)

  • MA in Linguistics and Didactics, 2014

    Université Rennes 2 (France)

  • BA in Translation (Spanish-English-French), 2011

    Universidad de Concepción (Chile)

Latest